The Youngstown Foundation

Governance & Financial

As a public charity, tax exempt under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, The Youngstown Foundation adheres to the highest standards to operate in the public view and the public interest. The Youngstown Foundation is a member of the Ohio Grantmakers Forum and the Council on Foundations and our policies and procedures reflect the organization standards established by these industry leaders.


Central to the stewardship of The Youngstown Foundation and its charitable activities is a volunteer Distribution Committee. Comprised of experienced local community leaders, the committee oversees the Foundation's administration, establishes policy, sets priorities and makes final grant award decisions. The six members reside in the Youngstown area and are extremely knowledgeable and interested in the civic, educational, physical and moral needs of the community.

The Foundation's appointment process ensures that the committee represents a diverse range of views and experience. It consists of two members appointed for 3-year terms from the Board of Directors of the Trustee, one member appointed for a 3-year term by the Presiding Judge of the US District Court for the Northern District of Ohio, Eastern Division, and one member appointed annually by the Mayor of the City of Youngstown. In even-numbered years, one member is appointed for a 1-year term from the Regional Chamber and Youngstown State University. In odd-numbered years, one member is appointed for a 1-year term from the Youngstown Business and Professional Women's Association and the Youngstown/Mahoning Valley United Way.

Distribution Committee

  • David Toepher, Chair
  • Martha L. Bushey, Vice Chair
  • Rona Curtis
  • Rebecca Davis
  • Garry L. Mrozek
  • Theodore M. Schmidt


  In This Section:
Give | Receive | Plan | About
Site Map | Privacy Policy
City Centre One Building, 1st Floor - P.O. Box 1162 | Youngstown, OH 44501 | P: 330-744-0320 | F: 330-744-0344 |
Copyright © 2020 The Youngstown Foundation. All Rights Reserved. Site design by PALO Creative